GO15 is governed by the Steering Board represented by top level executives of the participating PGOs and headed by the GO15 president. In 2016, the GO15 presidency is held by Mr. Liangyou Wang, Vice President of China Southern Power Grid.

Liangyou Wang, President

Liangyou Wang, Vice President of China Southern Power Grid, is responsible for the scientific and technological innovation, international cooperation and overseas investment business, etc. He is a senior engineer.

Prior to this, Mr. Liangyou Wang had served as President of Yunnan Power Corporation from 2005 to 2007. Before that he served as Director of Personnel Department of CSG since 2003. From 2001 to 2003, he headed Guizhou Tianshengqiao Hydropower General Plant and President of Guizhou Tianshengqiao Hydropower Development Company. Prior to this role, he worked for State Power South Company as President. Mr. Liangyou Wang has authored and published dozens of papers on power system operation, power market and power system automation and etc. Mr. Liangyou Wang received his B.A degree and master degree in electric power system automation from Qsinghua University, China. He holds a PHD degree from North China Electric Power University, China.

Matt Zema, Vice President (Incoming 2017 President)

Mr Matt Zema is the Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer of the Australian Energy Market Operator (AEMO) – the national, independent energy sector organisation responsible for operating wholesale and retail electricity and gas markets across Australia. AEMO also oversees vital system operations and security for the National Electricity Market power system, the Victorian Gas Declared Transmission System, and most recently the South West Interconnected System in Western Australia.

Mr Zema has deep experience in strategic planning, asset management, corporate governance and financial management gained over two decades in executive roles in both the public and private sectors. Matt has held the position of Chief Executive Officer of the Victorian Energy Networks Corporation (VENCorp), responsible for operating the principal transmission system for gas in Victoria and for the planning, procurement and augmentation of the Victorian electricity transmission network. Prior to this, Matt worked in general management roles with PowerNet Victoria, GPU PowerNet and GPU International.

Daniel Dobbeni, Vice President (2015 President)

Daniel Dobbeni holds an MSc in Industrial Engineering, a diploma in Middle Management from Vlerick Management School and attended the General Management Program at INSEAD/CEDEP in Fontainebleau, France.

From nuclear engineering to Chief Technology Officer for Research & Development during the first part of his career, he moved to the transmission business where he became in 1999 Chief Operating Officer for the newly incorporated Elia, the Belgian transmission system operator (TSO). From 2003 to 2012, he was CEO and chairman of the Executive Committee of the Elia Group. Since 2010, he is the chairman of the board of Eurogrid International, the holding company created by Elia and Industry Fund Management for their joint acquisition as well as of the supervisory board of 50Hertz Transmission and the board of Coreso, the first cross-border regional monitoring centre for energy flows. He is also director of APX Endex, the power exchange operating in Belgium, the UK and the Netherlands, a director of HGRT, a core shareholder in Powernext, the French power exchange and a director of EPEX Spot, the French-German power exchange. From 2008 to 2013, he was the first President of the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity (ENTSO-E), the sole European association of transmission system operators after the merging under his leadership of six previous TSO associations. Recently he became co-chairman of a workgroup focused on future grid designs within the Energy Transition Forum of the German Marshall Fund of the USA, and the President of GO15.

Alain P. Steven, Secretary General

Alain Steven graduated from the University of Liege, Belgium as an engineer physicist. Mr. Steven served as Vice President and Chief Technology Officer of PJM Interconnection and President of PJM Technologies, Inc. He held executive level positions in several corporations serving the electricity industry for nineteen years.

Mr. Steven was the President and CEO of ESCA Corporation, a leading supplier of market management and grid management systems. He held senior management positions at both ABB and Combustion Engineering where he founded the Power Automation Simulation Division and served as Vice President and General Manager. Mr. Steven headed ABB’s worldwide simulation business specialized in the manufacturing of power plant training simulators. Mr. Steven is former Chairman of the University of Washington’s Electric Energy Industrial Consortium (EEIC) and former Vice President of the Pacific Northwest French American Chamber of Commerce. He also held positions on the Board of the Washington Software Alliance and the Gridwise Alliance. Mr. Steven serves as Secretary General of GO15 since 2008.

Edit Me!